Troy’s Book Club: Warm Bodies

I tell you, lately I’m chewing through books like a zombie through a slow-moving person’s muscle mass.

++

The latest book I’ve finished is “Warm Bodies” by Isaac Marion. I picked up this book months ago, unaware that a movie version of it was just hitting the big screen. I put this book on my “to read” shelf,  forgot it was there, eventually saw the movie version a few weeks ago, and then realized I had the book here waiting for me!

This easy-to-read, aimed-at-the-Twilight-crowd of readers was actually pretty neat. It took the very popular concept of a “zombie apocalypse” and mixed in a cross-cultural romance with it. The plot is thus: what happens when a zombie boy falls for a Living girl? And even more significantly, how does that affect the zombie catastrophe?

This book adds some new ideas to the zombie genre and was a pretty fun read. It is a bit darker than the movie, and I appreciated that – it gave more depth to the characters. The book does have some funny aspects too, as I tried to imagine the zombie “community” as they shamble around the ruined airport that they made their home.

Find it at Boswell Books here or the Milwaukee Public Library here.

Leave a Reply

