Student haikus

I’m currently teaching a photo-workshop for kids (age 10-13), through the Milwaukee Rec Dept. Today, I had the kids make photographs…and write haikus. As both are all about observation, it seemed a good exercise. We went outside, and they had to write two haikus – one about themselves and one about something outside that they could take a photo of. Here’s a sampling of what the kids came up with —

+++++

I am mostly mean

but I can be nice sometimes

but I’m mostly mean

rain makes me sleepy

it really calms and suits me

I love when it rains

++++

I have dark brown eyes

I have a lot of nice friends

I am very friendly

+++++

I like to play chess

My friend’s name is Eduardo

I like to eat chips

clouds are very white

the sky is light blue and cute

the clouds are pretty

Leave a Reply

